Batu Caves, Selangor, Malaysia

234

Almost a  year ago, days before March 8, 2014, before the country of Malaysia figured in the eye of a maelstrom of tragedies, I was there.

I visited the Batu Caves in Selangor, one of Malaysia’s biggest tourist draw.  The caves formed by limestone, reputed to be about 400 million years old are accessed by a steep inclined climb to the entrance.  Malaysian tourism information says there are 272 steps, but it seemed like more than that.  Each step was a trudge, but with the help of a young fellow tourist, Rulan from Kazakhstan, who cheered me on with each step, I made it, trying to avoid the monkeys frolicking on each side of the steps trying to befriend people walking by, especially those they sensed carrying food.

244

Three outstanding caves with worshipers praying by the temples and shrines caught my attention.  Paintings and icons of Hindu Gods are everywhere.

 Aside from the monkeys, birds were everywhere, in and out of the caves and flitting over people on the square.

 

2 comments on “Batu Caves, Selangor, Malaysia

  1. Hi Bertie,

    I is happy you went to Malaysia in March 8 th , 2014 and Alhambra last Dec. How are you doing? I guess you are fine and well.

    I went to Canada to visit my sister and her husband in Vancouver and my sister and her family. Her son is married with a Canadian woman.They have a daughter 2 years and 7 months. The little girl is very smart and pretty. I was there in Dec. 9th, 2014 until Jan. 20th, 2015. It was awesome.

    I was very tired . My jet lag is better. My holidays was very nice and now it is over. My routine is normal.

    Bye for now. Take care and God bless! Always, Fely Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Thank you, Fely. We are home for now, and bracing up for the snow and freezing weather. What a change from the places we have been to. I am glad you are feeling better and you are back to your routine. It must be terribly cold where you are now. But summer is coming. Be well, dear friend.

Leave a Reply

